Hiking Mount Rose

As John Muir once pointed out, “Thousands of tired, nerve-shaken, over-civilized people are beginning to find out going to the mountains is going home; that wilderness is a necessity…”

Here I found myself agreeing more and more with him as I started my hike on the Mount Rose trail from the Summit trail head on Highway 431 (Mount Rose Highway). The trailhead is perched at the top of the Mount Rose Scenic Byway, with easy access for parking, large restrooms and maps available. At the beginning of the climb you have a stunning view of Lake Tahoe in all of her entirety, nestled among the mysterious and wild Sierra Nevada Mountains. Climbing the trail one will notice unique flora and fauna, volcanic rocks, mountain peaks, endless forests, and minimalist views of the highway snaking through to Lake Tahoe. The most shocking view was about 45 minutes in, when I noticed I could see John Ascuaga’s Nugget Hotel from the trail. Healthy-living always seems to hold moments of surprise when you least expect it.

Mount Rose is the second tallest peak in the Lake Tahoe Basin, with the trail head itself starting at roughly 8,900 feet. You add another estimate 2,000 feet if you hike all the way to the very top. Panting as I was and with a blister the beautiful shade of red on my left heel, I admit I did turn around halfway up the trail. But I am determined to finish this gorgeous trek, only next time with hiking socks to match my Scarpa trail-running shoes.  I anticipate it being more smooth of a journey now that I know what to expect halfway up the hill, and the snow just might be melted by then! In the meantime, reading Yelp reviews from other hikers of the Mount Rose Summit Trail can always be helpful.

What do you think? Please share your thoughts in the comment section below.

Josh and me in Tahoe
Josh & Me
Tahoe from Mount Rose
A Winter View from Mount Rose

Image: http://www.summitpost.org/january-2004-view-of-lake/76604

One thought on “Hiking Mount Rose

  1. Pingback: Halfway to Canada!! | Banana Ripper and Songbird Hike the PCT

Leave a Reply

